Why did the Chicken Cross the Road…An Investigation into Humor

People are the most diverse and interesting species that I have encountered to date. As the title of this article suggests, I will be looking into the different types of humor that people possess, and how it molds them into the people they are.

People have varying types of humor. Some people like extreme humor, such as jokes revolving around unacceptable topics such as racism, others prefer a more acceptable (and in my opinion more humorous) situational humor. Allow me to present an example of this. Earlier this week, my friends and I went to a local pool bar that we often frequent. During the 2 hours of pool playing that ensued, one of my friends had left a pool cue idly balanced against the pool table. Another member of our group lent down to pick something up and it just so happened that the cue slipped and hit him on the head. This provoked a very favorable and joyous reaction from all other members of the group. Personally, this has to be my favorite type of humor.

Other people (generally with a higher opinion of themselves I find) simply find certain things funny because they happened to say them. Go into any given pub, and I guarantee that there will be one of these individuals there. They will simply state the obvious about any given topic, and then proceed to laugh louder than anyone else about it. The content will almost certainly also involve expletives. I will go so far as to give an example of this. The individual in question would say (for example purposes) on the topic of any given football player ‘yeah, but he’s still s***!’ and then laugh on a maniacal level about it.

While I may not always agree or understand other peoples sense of humor, that’s part of the beauty of life. We are all different, and this is what gives life its edge, its fun, its uncertainty. All the things that keep us on our toes, the variables. Until next time.

Leave a Reply

